CFAES Give Today

Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics


Tim Haab Named 2016-2017 Chair-Elect of the National Association of Agricultural Economics Administrators

May. 25, 2016

Tim Haab, AEDE professor and chair, has been named the chair-elect of the National Association of Agricultural Economics Administrators (NAAEA) for the 2016-2017 academic year. NAAEA is a membership section within the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA).

NAAEA aims to improve the leadership and management of agricultural economics programs; to support the acquisition of resources to carry out agricultural economics research, teaching and extension programs; and to address common needs and concerns of agricultural economics administrators. Membership is comprised of individuals who administer departments or units in academia, public agencies and foundations offering agricultural economics, resource economics, agribusiness management or similar research, teaching or extension programs.

Professor Haab’s research and teaching focuses on environmental economics, experimental economics, and applied econometrics. He joined AEDE in 2000 after five years on the faculty at East Carolina University. Dr. Haab has served as AEDE’s department chair since 2010 and he teaches courses in both the undergraduate and graduate programs. With Appalachian State University’s John Whitehead, he also co-authors the popular Environmental Economics blog.

AAEA serves the professional interests of members working in agricultural and broadly related fields of applied economics. The organization hosts an annual meeting each year, which is attended by nearly 1,300 participants from across the U.S., including a number of AEDE faculty and graduate students who present their research at the gathering. The 2016 meeting will be held in Boston, MA from July 31 to August 2.