Agribusiness Club Honors Professor Sheldon and Outstanding Students at Annual Banquet

April 15, 2014

The Ohio State Agribusiness Club held its annual year-end banquet on April 14th to recognize outstanding faculty and students affiliated with the Club.

At the event, Ian Sheldon, Ohio State’s Andersons Professor of International Trade, was honored with the 2013-2014 Outstanding Professor award. AEDE student Lauren Prettyman was named the Club’s Outstanding First Year Member, while Lindsay Hope was named the Outstanding Transfer Student Member. Additionally, Club member Derek Snider was named the Outstanding Senior Member, while Megan Harris was recognized as the Outstanding Freshman Member.

The event, which was held at Ohio State’s Agricultural Administration Building Auditorium, also included a dinner, recognition of the recent winners of AEDE’s scholarship competition and the department’s generous scholarship donors, as well as introductory remarks from AEDE Department Chair, Dr. Tim Haab and Dr. Bruce McPheron, Ohio State’s Vice President of Agricultural Administration and Dean of the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences. The event also featured a keynote address from guest speaker Dale Minyo, AEDE alum and co-founder and farm broadcaster for Ohio Ag Net. Club members also offered a year in review presentation, which highlighted guest speakers and their yearly trip. Barry Ward, AEDE faculty member and Agribusiness Club advisor also spoke. Finally, the evening included recognition of the Agribusiness Club’s 2013-2014 officers, as well as acknowledgment of the incoming officers for the 2014-2015 academic year.

The Agribusiness Club is comprised of more than 50 undergraduate students from Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences. The Club meets twice a month during the academic year and hosts guest speakers from various agribusinesses who inform students of the work of their organizations, including offering recruitment advice for upcoming internship and job opportunities at their companies. The Club also sponsors an academic scholarship in the department and Club members take a yearly trip within the U.S. to tour agribusiness facilities and meet with representatives working in the field.

April 15, 2014