CFAES Give Today

Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics


Agribusiness Club Honors Eugene Jones and Outstanding Students at Annual Banquet

April 27, 2016

The Ohio State Agribusiness Club held its annual year-end banquet on April 19th to recognize outstanding faculty and students affiliated with the Club.

At the event, Eugene Jones was honored with the 2015-2016 Outstanding Faculty Member award. AEDE student Kelli Gerber was named the Club’s Outstanding Returning Member, while Corbin Davis was named the Outstanding Transfer Student Member. Additionally, Club member Adre Radcliffe was named the Outstanding First Year Member.

The event, which was held at Ohio State’s Agricultural Administration Building Auditorium, also included a dinner, recognition of the recent winners of AEDE’s scholarship competition and the department’s generous scholarship donors, as well as introductory remarks from AEDE Department Chair, Dr. Tim Haab. The event also featured a keynote address from guest speaker Senator Cliff Hite, member of the Ohio Senate. Club members also offered a year in review presentation, which highlighted guest speakers and their yearly trip. Ohio State student representatives to the National Agri-Marketing Association’s (NAMA) 2016 conference were also recognized. Barry Ward, AEDE faculty member and Agribusiness Club advisor, was recognized for her service to the group. Finally, the evening included recognition of the Agribusiness Club’s 2015-2016 officers, as well as acknowledgment of the incoming officers for the 2016-2017 academic year.

The Agribusiness Club is comprised of more than 50 undergraduate students from Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences. The Club meets twice a month during the academic year and hosts guest speakers from various agribusinesses who inform students of the work of their organizations, including offering recruitment advice for upcoming internship and job opportunities at their companies. The Club also sponsors an academic scholarship in the department and Club members take a yearly trip within the U.S. to tour agribusiness facilities and meet with representatives working in the field.

Image: AEDE's Eugene Jones with his award for Outstanding Faculty Member.