AEDE Well Represented at November's North American Regional Science Council Conference

Nov. 28, 2018

AEDE faculty, PhD Students and Candidates, past and present recently attended the 65th Annual North American Meetings of the Regional Science Association International. Most presented current work and many took home top prizes.

PhD Candidate Daniel Crown was selected as the winner of the Eighteenth Annual Benjamin H. Stevens Fellowship in Regional Science, which provides a stipend of $30,000 over the 2018-2019 academic year in support of his dissertation research titled, “Foreign-born graduates and innovation at domestic institutions: Evidence from an Australian skilled graduate visa program.” Congratulations Daniel, as he beat out 35 other applicants.

PhD Student Oudom Hean was named second runner-up in the 2018 North American Regional Science Council Student Led Paper competition with his paper titled, “Technical migration, technology-induced demand of education and spatial skill inequality: Evidence from U.S. urban patent counts,” coauthored with Nattanicha Chairassamee.

PhD Candidate Jae-Wan Ahn was named finalist in the 2018 North American Regional Science Council Student Led Paper competition for his paper titled, “Sprawling versus compact: The effects of residential development patterns on air quality.”

Professor Mark Partridge gave the NARSC Presidential Plenary Lecture titled, “Rural communities in an urbanizing world: Will they survive? Should urban America care?”

Ten other AEDE graduate student presenters at the meetings include Nattanicha Chairassamee, Seung-hun Chung, Daniel Crown, Brian Cultice, Nanxin Deng, Jung Dae Bae, Will Georgic, Tim Jaquet, Tyler Morin, and Sydney Schreiner. Another ten recent AEDE graduates also participated in the conference, giving AEDE an outsized presence at the conference.